For Immediate Release:  April 19, 2013; Toronto, Ontario;  The 3rd Annual Canadian Cinema Editors  Awards by Deluxe are thrilled to announce the 2013 nominees for the awards that will be hosted at the Capitol Event Theatre in Toronto on June 6th 2013. The C.C.E Awards is the largest event hosted by the organization, focusing on the significance of post-production in cinema.

Nominees for the 2013 CCE Awards by Deluxe

Best Editing in Feature length

    •   Adam Locke-Norton – “Stress Position”
    •   Stephen Philipson – “Molly Maxwell”
    •   Dev Singh – “Picture Day”
    •   Matt Hannam – “Antiviral”
    •   Roderick Deogrades – “Still Mine”

Best Editing in Television Movie or Mini-Series

    •   Lisa Binkley, C.C.E. – “Hitched for the Holidays”
    •   Gordon Rempel, C.C.E. – “She Made Them Do It”
    •   Ron Wisman Sr., C.C.E. – “An Officer and a Murderer”
    •   Roslyn Kalloo – “The Phantoms”
    •   Susan Shipton – “Titanic, Episode 4?

Best Editing in Long Form Television Series – (1 hour drama, comedy, family program)

    •   Wendy Hallam Martin, C.C.E. – “The Borgias, Episode 210: The Confession”
    •   Paul Winestock, C.C.E. – “Cracked, Episode 110: Blind Spot”
    •   Lisa Grootenboer, C.C.E. – “The Borgias, Episode 205: The Choice”
    •   Stephen Lawrence, C.C.E. – “The Transporter, Episode 112: Trojan Horsepower”
    •   Mike Banas, C.C.E. – “The L.A. Complex, Episode 213: Don’t Say Goodbye”

Best Editing in 1/2 hour Broadcast Short Form

    •   Charles Robichaud – “R.L. Stine’s The Haunting Hour, Episode: Uncle Howie”
    •   Kimberlee McTaggart – “Call Me Fitz, Episode: Are You There God?…”
    •   Jason Irvine – “Degrassi, Episode 1232: Bittersweet Symphony pt 2”
    •   Ellen Fine – “My Babysitter’s a Vampire (Season 2), Episode: Fanged & Furious”
    •   Lisa Jane Robison, C.C.E. –  “R.L. Stine’s The Haunting Hour, Episode: Spaceman”

Best Editing in Documentary

    •   Kelly Morris – “A Wolf Called Storm”
    •   Matt Lyon – “Lunarcy!”
    •   Michèle Hozer, C.C.E. – “Fight Like Soldiers Die Like Children”
    •   Nick Hector, C.C.E. – “Echoes”
    •   Marcus Valentin – “Air Aces, Episode: Red Tails”

Best Editing in Lifestyle/Reality

    •   Jorge Parra – “Income Property 5, Episode 5084: Dan Tanik”
    •   Matt Anas – “Mother of the Bride, Episode: Monetta & Tricia”
    •   Tyronne L’Hirondelle, Kevin Mills, Richard Fulop, Brian Mann, Scott Estes, Paul Smart and Mark Murray – “Highway Through Hell, Episode: I Can’t Take it Anymore”
    •   Al Flett and Erin Cummings – “Ice Pilots, Episode 406: Crash Landing”
    •   Aren Hansen – “Panic Button, Episode: 101”

Best Editing in Animation

    •   Joycelyn Poon and Jamie Ebata – “Oh No! It’s an Alien Invasion, Episode: The Royal Flush / Brainlings on Ice”
    •   Shyra De Souza – “Distraction of a Stationary Nature”
    •   Alain Delannoy – “Fraction”
    •   Don Lee and Robert Henry – “Scaredy Squirrel, Episode: Talented Mr. Peacock /  Hiccup Hicdown in Balsatown”
    •   Kurt Skyers and Joycelyn Poon – “Babar and the Adventures of Badou, Episode: Babar the Pirate / Stripes vs. Scales”

Best Editing in Short film

    •   Andrew Coutts – “Sequence”
    •   Erin Deck – “The Devil’s Carnival”
    •   Michelle Szemberg – “For Dorian”
    •   Bryan Atkinson – “Night Light”
    •   Gordon Rempel, C.C.E. – “The Weather Girl”

Best Editing in Any Live Action Web Series (Comedy or Drama)

    •   Jennifer Prokop – “My Lupine Life, Episode: Dragon Moon Part 2”
    •   Ian Macleod – “The Last Fall of Ashes, Episode 5”
    •   Jonathan Robbins – “Clutch, Episode 200: Aftermath”
    •   Anthony Baird and Thom Smalley – “Guidestones, Episode 30: Market Collapse”

Lifetime Achievement Awards

    •   Ralph Brunjes, C.C.E.
    •   Kelly Smith, C.C.E. (Posthumous)
    •   Rik Morden, C.C.E. (Posthumous)

Student Merit Awards to be announced May 1, 2013

The C.C.E. is a non-profit organization with the goal of bettering the art and science of picture editing in all media. Through a better understanding of each other, and teaching others in our industry we hope to advance the profile of professional film editors. Our aim is to spark passion in us all and bring recognition to those who create the last draft of the script by weaving a mosaic of picture and sound in the cutting rooms across Canada.

Tickets to the Awards will be available May 1, 2013 from our website:

For More Information:

If you have questions about the 2013 C.C.E. Awards, please see our website for more information and updates:
Or contact:
Canada Cinema Editors
Awards Committee co­chair Jason Irvine ­or Awards Committee co­chair Paul Whitehead ­

A special thanks to our sponsors, jurors and to everyone who submitted.